• Request Support
  • Home
  • Work with Customer Records

Manage Customers with Notes

Add notes to customer records to track important information about your customers.

Written by Dan Coleman

Updated at October 20th, 2026

Contact Us

If you still have questions or prefer to get help directly from an agent, please submit a request.
We’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

Please fill out the contact form below and we will reply as soon as possible.

  • Getting Started
  • Your Postsale Account
  • Import & Add Orders
    Sales Channel Integrations
  • Manage Your Orders
    Edit & Manage Your Orders Search For & Organize Your Orders Order Management Using Tags Archive Your Orders
  • Connect & Manage Your Carriers
    FedEx UPS USPS General Carrier Information
  • Ship Your Orders
    Get Ready to Ship Ship Orders & Manage Shipments Ship Internationally Protect Your Shipments Schedule a Carrier Pickup FedEx Specific Shipping Options USPS Specific Shipping Options Postsale Anywhere
  • Work with Customer Records
  • Automate Your Shipping
    Automation Shipping Rules Reference Guides
  • Invoices, Packing Slips, Emails and More
  • Your Business Analytics
  • Third-Party Integrations
  • Quick Tip Videos
    Import & Add Orders Manage Your Orders Add Your Shipping Carriers Get Ready to Ship Ship Your Orders Protect Your Shipments Personalize Postsale Your Postsale Account Business Analytics
  • Blog Posts
+ More

In This Article

Before We Begin User Management How Customer Notes Can Be Used Add a Customer Note View Customer Notes In the Orders Grid In the Customer Record In the Order Editor Edit a Customer Note Delete a Customer Note Automations and Rules

Use customer notes to remember details about a customer, such as their sales rep, gift wrap preferences, the carrier and service to use for their orders, or a ‘VIP’ label. Customer notes are different from order notes. An order note is tied to a specific order, while customer notes follow the customer. Add and edit customer notes on the customer record.

In this article, we will:

  • Explore how to use customer notes.
  • Add a new customer note.
  • Learn what information is available with each note.
  • Edit a note.
  • Delete a note.

Before We Begin

To view and manage customer notes and see the orders that belong to a customer, you must be logged in to Postsale as:

  • The Postsale account owner or
  • A user with the Manager role assigned or
  • A user with these permissions assigned:
    • Read Customers: Allows the user to view customer records
    • Read Orders: Allows the user to view the orders that belong to a customer
    • Manage Customers: Allows the user to add, edit, and delete customer notes and to save customer Filters

User Management

A user whose access is limited to specific orders for specific customers can't access customer records. They see Not Available instead of the Customers grid.

Learn more about adding and managing users.

How Customer Notes Can Be Used

Here are a couple of ways you can put customer notes to work:

  • Customer Filters: Use customer notes to search for specific customers. Then save the search as a Filter you can click to repeat it anytime.
  • Shipping Rules: Tell Postsale to automatically apply shipping settings, like a certain carrier and service, when the customer has a specific note.

Add a Customer Note

REAL-WORLD EXAMPLE

We would like to mark our repeat customers as ‘VIP’ so that these customers receive additional benefits, such as upgraded shipping at no cost to them.

You can do that using a customer note. Here's how:

  1. Locate the customer record you want to add the note to.
  2. Select the customer to open the customer record.

    The customer record is shown and being clicked to open the customer record.
  3. Select + Add Note.

    Add Note is being clicked in the customer record.
  4. Enter the note for the customer.
    In this case, we entered VIP as the customer note.

    VIP is entered as the customer note.
  5. Select Save Note.

    The Save Note button is being clicked.

View Customer Notes

In the Orders Grid

Hover over the notes icon on the main Orders Grid to view order and customer notes associated with an order.

The notes icon is hovered over. Order and Customer notes are shown.

In the Customer Record

Customer notes appear in the Notes section of the customer record. Each note shows the user who created it and when.

The Notes section of the customer record is shown with two notes.

In the Order Editor

They also appear at the top of the Order Editor for any order associated with the customer.

Customer notes are shown in the order editor.

Edit a Customer Note

Edit a customer note at any time.

REAL-WORLD EXAMPLE

We use customer notes to assign a sales rep to customers. We need to edit the note to update the sales rep assigned to one of our customers.

  1. Locate the customer record you want to modify.
  2. Select the customer to open the customer record.

    The customer record is shown and being clicked to open the customer record.
  3. Select the Edit icon for the note you want to modify.

    The Edit icon is highlighted and being clicked.
  4. Update the text in the Note field of the Edit Note pop-up.

    The note is being edited.
  5. Select Save Note.

    Save Note is being clicked.

Your updated note appears in the Notes section with an Edited label.

The updated note is shown.

Delete a Customer Note

Automations and Rules

Deleting a customer note may cause any Automations or Shipping Rules based on the customer note to stop working correctly. We recommend reviewing your automations and rules before deleting any notes to ensure nothing is affected.

To delete a customer note:

  1. Locate the customer record you want to modify.
  2. Select the customer to open the customer record.

    The customer record is shown and being clicked to open the customer record.
  3. Select the Delete icon next to the note you want to delete in the Notes section.

    The Delete icon is being clicked.
  4. Verify that you want to permanently delete the note.

    The Delete Note button is being clicked.

The note is deleted and no longer appears in the Notes section.

The Notes section is shown and the note is no longer there.

Was this article helpful?

Yes
No
Give feedback about this article

Related Articles

  • Introduction to Customer Records
  • Search for Customers & Create Filters

Legal & Policies
© 2022-2026 Persistive, LLC

Expand